What Did I Get Myself Into??

A year ago, my now husband says to me “I want to run a marathon, you should to!!” Not knowing even how long a marathon was…I ignorantly said “OK!”

So after 6 months of long, painful, stressful and painful (did I already say that?) training, I ran my first marathon on April 25, 2010!

This picture is TERRIBLE! But I love it because I am just a few 100 feet from the finish line…and see all those people behind me? Those are some of the GREATEST people ever…who came to support me, which was a HUGE blessing!

My parents also got up at the crack of dawn to come cheer Brian and I on! They met us at several markers!!

My friends made signs to cheer us on! See the one on the right? Well a man stopped to thank them for making that sign, he said it was very encouraging!

This is us, after the race…feeling like someone just beat us up!

Even though it was extremely emotional and painful, I can honestly say this was one of the proudest moments of my life. I set a HUGE goal and I achieved it.

Lots of people say “HOW IN THE WORLD DID YOU RUN 26.2 MILES?!?!”

Well, let me tell you this, before training…I had NEVER ran more than 2 miles without feeling like I was about to die. So if I can do it, anyone can do it!

Soooo…with all this said, Monday marked the first day of training for Marathon number two, and I have a feeling that now that I know what I am in for, its going to be harder and more rewarding than the first! 🙂

 

One thought on “What Did I Get Myself Into??

  1. Pingback: Self-Defense « Faith Hope Love

Leave a Reply

